Certified Lead System Architect (CLSA) 7.3

The Lead System Architect is responsible for the design and quality of the Pega solution. They lead the implementation team and ensure that the solution leverages the technology to provide optimum business value. They provide technical mentoring and leadership across the team.

View Previous Version



7.3 Learning Path

This learning path combines Pega Academy courses with on-the-job experience to ensure that system architects get exposure to the breadth and depth of Pega products which is required to perform effectively in a leading role.

The following diagram illustrates the full program. 

CLSA 7.3 Prerequisites

CLSA is the highest level of technical achievement in Pega.  Prior to training as a Lead System Architect, individuals must gain field experience and demonstrate their technical aptitude by earning first their CSA and then their CSSA certifications.  


View Pega Certification Paths

Build Expertise

Pega recommends that real-world experience of at least 12 months be gained before attempting to achieve the CLSA certification. Working twelve months or longer implementing Pega applications expands the depth of Pega knowledge and builds the expertise that is required to successfully complete the program.

However, recognizing that each person has different project implementation opportunities, Pega Academy is introducing self-paced courses that help system architects fill potential gaps in knowledge and experience. The Advanced Topic courses are based on the Pega 7.3 Platform. 

Advanced Topics include:

View Pega Certification Paths

LSA Readiness Exam

When system architects are confident that they can configure a Pega solution to successfully meet most business requirements, they can take the LSA Readiness exam.  The LSA Readiness Exam tests knowledge learned in the listed Prerequisites, SSA Advanced Topics, Pega Help, PDN, and from project implementation real-life experience.

The LSA Readiness exam is a two hour standard exam that is delivered at Pearson VUE testing centers. A passing score validates that system architects are ready to move to the next level of Pega mastery – design and architecture.

The exam blueprint is available here on Pega Academy.  Exam information and the Study Guide are available at the Pearson VUE site.

View Pega Certification Paths

Lead System Architect Course

System architects who pass the LSA Readiness exam can register for the Lead System Architect course.  The two week course teaches best practices in technical design and architecture of a Pega application.  System architects use their configuration skills to build an application that they design and architect.  

Topics include:

  • Enterprise Design
  • Case Design
  • Data Model Design
  • Supporting Business Users
  • User Experience Design
  • Security
  • Reporting
  • Background processing
  • Performance
  • Deployment and Testing

The Lead System Architect course information is available here in Pega Academy.

View Pega Certification Paths

Testing Requirements

To complete the CLSA certification, system architects must take and pass the following two exams:

  • Pega Architecture Exam
  • LSA Architecture Application Build

Pega Architecture Exam

The Pega Architecture exam validates that system architects have mastered the design and architecture skills taught in the Lead System Architect course and that they can guide an application development team on configuration decisions. 

The Pega Architecture exam is a two hour standard exam that is delivered at Pearson VUE testing centers. The exam blueprint is available here in Pega Academy. Additional exam information and registration is available at the Pearson VUE site.

LSA Architecture Application Build

The LSA Architecture App Build tests the ability of system architects to architect, implement and analyze Pega 7 solutions. Working with a pre-built Pega 7 application, system architects will be required to:

  • Analyze key areas of the current design and identify architectural deficiencies
  • Implement extensible and reusable solutions for new requirements
  • Identify problem areas and take corrective actions with the current application
  • Document your analysis and solutions using a supplied documentation template

At the end of the exam, system architects will build and send a migration package which contains their application solutions along with the specified documentation for evaluation.

The exam activities will be performed over 3 consecutive days and requires a score of 70% in order to pass.

The LSA Architecture Application Build is managed by Pega. Please contact the CLSA Team at CLSATeam@pega.com to register for the 7.3 application build. 

View Pega Certification Paths

Certified Lead System Architect, Next Steps

After certification, CLSAs can continue to take advantage of the numerous training opportunities offered by Pega Academy.

View Pega Certification Paths Explore other training offerings